Kelp forest in Cape Town - piscesdivers.co.za

Pisces News: 1st August 2013

Last weekend saw the first Finathon taking place and a bunch of intrepid divers braved the 12 degree water for a looooong swim from Glencairn to Simonstown – some even made it J I think it was a nice initiative and I am sure some money was raised for Shark Spotters and Project Aware. I am sure it will become a regular fixture in the calendar.

 

On Sunday, we experienced several down-poars during the day, but the divers nevertheless had fun underwater with a wide range of conditions between the various sites that were dived. Smits was dirty at the bottom, deep Partridge very clean (12m) and Pyramid was 5m-ish and quite surgy.

Today there is a strong and hot berg wind down in the South peninsula and the forecast for the weekend is virtually no wind and a 2.5 to 3m very Westerley swell. I think we can safely say the conditions are going to be very good in the Bay again!

Yes, we have had some special visibility recently!
Photo: Juan Venter

Launches for the Weekend:

Friday 02nd Aug:
1000: MFV Orotava (max depth 35m)
1200: PMB Reef (max depth 18m)

Saturday 03rd Aug:
0900: Atlantis reef (max depth 25m)
1130: Partridge Point (max depth 21m)
1400: Pyramid Rock (max depth 12m)

Sunday 04th Aug:
0900: SAS Good Hope wreck (max depth 33m)
1130: Photographer’s Reef (max depth 14m)
1400: Caravan Reef (max depth 20m)

Tyron waiting for seven gills

Waiting patiently for Seven Gills!

Photo: Juan Venter

Training for August:
PADI Advanced Open Water Course starting on Saturday 03rd August
PADI EFR course starting on Tuesday 06th August
PADI Enriched Air course starting on Wednesday 07th August
PADI Advanced Openwater course starting on Friday 09th August
PADI Deep Speciality course starting on Saturday 10th August
PADI Wreck Speciality Course starting on Sunday 11th August
PADI EFR course starting on Monday 12th August
PADI Rescue course starting on Tuesday 13th August
PADI Photography Speciality course starting on Friday 16th August
PADI Deep Speciality course starting on Sunday 18th August
PADI Advanced Open Water Course starting on Wednesday 21 August
PADI Open Water Course starting on Saturday 24th August